An Indian Girl’s Quarter Life Crisis

Recently I turned 25. And I think by now it must be obvious – I am a young single Indian girl (YSIG – yes I really like acronyms ok!!!). The key words here being “single” and “Indian”. Now one of my favorite aunts calls to wish me Happy Birthday. Yes I know very sweet of her to remember to wish, because I don’t think I have ever wished her on her birthday.
Anyway here’s a snippet of the conversation –
Aunt: Beta, so how old are you now?
YSIG/Me: Aunty, I turned 16 now
Aunt: Hahaha beta no seriously tell me how old are you.
YSIG/Me: Ok I’m 25
Aunt: Hahaha oh come on beta, you can’t be that old. Seriously tell me!
YSIG/Me: I am serious!!! (OMG she just called me old!!)
Aunt: Ohhh ok ok. Don’t worry Beta, I will pray for you then. You will get somebody soon. I am sure. It’s all going to be fine.
YSIG/Me: Uhmmm ok thank you Aunty (Whatttttttttttt the hell, when was I worried. Wait, should I be worried?!)
Yes so now I am officially worried! I’m NOT worried about not getting married, but I’m definitely worried about my relatives and their “advice/comments”. If I don’t get married soon enough I’m going to be subjected to a whole lot of “friendly advice/comments”. That I cannot take! For instance, I have this one another aunt – and no she didn’t make it to my favorite aunt list and don’t think she ever will – who introduces to me anyone and everyone like “this is (name withheld) and she’s not married”. Geee do you HAVE to introduce me that way?
Now I really don’t have an issue with arranged marriage. I think they can work very well. I do however have a major issue with the process that leads to an arranged marriage. Why does it have to be so complicated for us’ girls? And why can’t these relatives just let us be? Oh and do you think I can call myself YSIG, because Aunty just called me “old” and is busy praying for me. I do appreciate the prayers though. Hmmm well whatever it is..the whole arranged marriage situation has turned me into a blogger.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Of Photographs and Parents. | Arranging a "Farhan Akhtar"

What do you think? Let us know!