“Luv” in the FB/Twitter era

Hello bwoys!

Now that I have your FULL attention ( I don’t? what crap! 🙂 ) you need to pay attention to this.

These are tough times people! You don’t just have to pull off a good matrimonial site/studio picture with silly pose and background picture which mummy, nani, dadi, masi,chachi approve but also have to deal with Facebook, twitter, linked in and Lord knows what!          (digression point, don’t put the matrimonial picture(MP) on FB – you might suddenly find yourself unfriended by some of the girls you actually know – on the other hand FB picture for MP – FTW!! I know confusing these dynamics are no?)

So anyway, point is – you are going to be googled ( just like you will Google said girl suggested by the mata-pita/matrimony site brainiac/ chachi round the corner) and will know of every possible picture, job, groups liked and what not. And once both sides have established that there are no “hawwjeee” skeletons in the world wide web closet…you might actually meet. Assuming you did manage to get more than a few syllables out (or that you managed to keep at least a few syllables in and person of opposite gender wasn’t questioning their existence on her/his way home) – you will be planning your next move. In fact you might spend more time planning that, than you did while deciding which place was worthy of your esteemed presence ( if you thought that was me being serious, SERIOUSLY? *glares*)

Well anyway – while you plan and try to look “casual”….DO NOT, repeat, DO NOT add her on Facebook. Because you know – “liking” arranged match’s (AM’s) status or photo is just weird! Just totally weird. And given your link and first name basis with the mummy, masi, chachi community, AM’s life becomes a little more awkward. I mean imagine her getting home and the phone blinks “you have a friend request from bwoy” Most likely the reaction will be – OMFG now what to do? Should I remove all my pictures? Should I call the gang and tell them not to post anything on my wall ever? But o god gang isn’t exactly aware that “i have work today” meant “i have to meet arranged match” – what to do what to do?maybe I should just deactivate my FB account only – but then what will I do in office?

Now really do you want to do that to the poor soul? I mean she (okay maybe he also, but I doubt it) has enough to deal with – neighborhood hounding her with “so he is the one no beti?”  ” baat pakki karein beta” and so on and so forth ( the worst is “he went to MIT haanh, no pressure just saying”) Do you really want her to sit and wonder how bwoy’s presence on social networking world will affect her life?

And then comes the – so it didn’t work…..should I defriend him? Or he wasn’t that bad, can we make time pass conversation, he might even be a good match for my really weird friend – in fact (well never mind) ? Or maybe he’d be a good networking option – should I keep him, just in case? or O GOD – he will know if I haven’t had my band baaja baraat rolling before him and then gloat, isliye abhi defriend hi kar loon! ( yes girls, that is the right thing to do…really!)

So you know don’t FB ‘like’ her, follow her on twitter, stumble upon her likes, etc etc etc…….

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Of Greasy Boys and Men. | Arranging a "Farhan Akhtar"

What do you think? Let us know!